Skip to content


Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) refers to the ADHD “sub-types” as defined in the International Classification of Diseases, 10th revision [ICD-10-CM] or “presentations” as defined in the International Classification of Diseases, 11th revision [ICD-11], and the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition [DSM-V].

Domains refer to areas of function, for example, interpersonal relationships, education and occupational attainment, and risk awareness.

Environmental modifications
Environmental modifications are changes that are made to the physical environment in order to minimise the impact of a person’s ADHD on their day-to-day life. Appropriate environmental modifications will be specific to the circumstances of each person with ADHD and should be determined from an assessment of their needs. Examples may include changes to seating arrangements, changes to lighting and noise, reducing distractions (for example, using headphones), optimising work or education to have shorter periods of focus with movement breaks (including the use of ‘I need a break’ cards), reinforcing verbal requests with written instructions and, for children, the appropriate use of teaching assistants at school.

Reasonable adjustments / accommodations
Reasonable adjustment is a term that refers to the legal obligations of employers and higher education providers to make sure that workers or students with disabilities, or physical or mental health conditions are not substantially disadvantaged when doing their jobs or during their education. The term reasonable accommodation is more commonly used in an educational setting.

Shared treatment plan
A written treatment plan shared between healthcare professional and the person with ADHD; for children, this may be shared more widely (for example, with families, schools or social care, if relevant and agreed).

Settings refer to the physical location, for example, home, nursery, friends or family homes.

Primary Care
Health centers (local clinics)

Secondary Care
General hospitals

Tertiary Care
Specialized hospitals

Younger than 5 years

Young people
From 5 to 18 years

Older than 18 years